Carpenter Bee

April 21, 2012 at 12:34pm. 1/160: f/6.3: ISO160: 300mm

Carpenter Bee. (Xylocopa virginica)

Taken at a quick shutter speed in good midday light, this picture was a bitch. Carpenter bees are territorial solitary insects that burrow in (you guessed it) wood, including trees, dead logs, and houses. I found this male guarding his area in the brush of the MSC grounds, attacking butterflies, other bees, and even a couple birds if they came to close. I guess he didn’t find me a threat, so I sat in the middle of it and proceeded to struggle in manual focus, auto focus being impossible with such a small and quickly moving subject. His movements were erratic; I must have taken around 100 pictures within twenty minutes. Maybe next time I’ll just find a dead one and hang it from some fishing line outside.

3 thoughts on “Carpenter Bee

    • Thanks! I used a shutter speed of 1/160. The lens was a Canon EF 70-300 IS USM, a solid, middle of the road lens. Needed a decent telephoto to provide enough working space between me and the bee.

Leave a Reply

